What are the different types of clouds?

How many main types of clouds are there?

Choose one:

a) 5

b) 3


The main types of clouds are divided into 5 categories.

Clouds are classified into different types based on their appearance and altitude. The five main types of clouds are Cirrus, Cumulus, Stratus, Nimbostratus, and Cumulonimbus.

Cirrus clouds are high-altitude clouds that are thin, wispy, and feathery in appearance. They are composed of ice crystals and are often associated with fair weather. Cumulus clouds are fluffy, white clouds with flat bases. They are typically associated with fair weather but can develop into larger storm clouds. Stratus clouds are low-altitude clouds that form in layers or sheets. They often bring overcast skies and light precipitation. Nimbostratus clouds are thick, dark clouds that cover the sky and bring continuous precipitation such as rain or snow. Cumulonimbus clouds are towering clouds that can reach high altitudes. They are associated with thunderstorms, heavy rain, and sometimes hail or tornadoes.
← Exploring lady gaga s unicorn tattoo and its meaning The enigmatic sahara desert →